I have had a ongoing issue going on for some time with my Freenas storage server box. That build is sitting in my Cooler Master Haf 932 advanced case. I have 12 hard drives stuffed into that machine. Before I was using 5.25 to 3.5 hdd bay adapter which included no fans and have 6 of them mounted in the cdrom area. Well that case inst exactly designed with that in mind. Well you can probably guess the issues I ran into were thermal issues. Originally I had ghetto added a 200 mm fan zip tied behind all the hdds in the cdrom area. This wasn’t enough air flow considering all i was doing was blowing hot air across all 6 hard drives. After getting I cant tell you how many smart error emails from Freenas it was time to rethink my plan of attack

Well off to the internet to find a better solution. I was thinking of going with hot swap bays but those are very spendy for anything decent and just adds more weight to a ass that is already far to heavy now. I eventually decided to go with two Icy Dock cages which you can view at https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00LGNV27U/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

My thoughts of the cages

The cages were fairly painless to install. One thing I did run into if you have tooless designed cases the cages might not fight very snugly and you will want to screw into side of case. Each one of the modules can fit 4 3.5 hdds and comes with built in fan. Another gotcha you will need to keep in mind is each cage takes up 3cdrom bays so make sure you have the room for it. Also you will need one molex power adapter per module to power the fan .  I did like the blue led fans that come with the modules as well. It isn’t super bright and is also very quiet as well. I have had the units going for awhile now and no longer have any heat issues . Anyone who is looking to put additional drives into there case i would highly recommend this.

 

20170126_200055

