First off lets s tart with the cons /vs pros before we get into things

cons:

Alexa for Plex doesnt work for playing of movies( seems to be more related to not fully supported yet)

Can do home automation, but those kits cost around 70-200$ roughly depending what you go with

Voice requests can at times be tricky to get apps to work  ( I do need to learn commands more)

Just like with any app store need to do research for what works

Pros:

Fairly cheap price

Can do home automation with proper kits purchased

Lots of skills to choose from

Can do voice ordering using your amazon account( make sure to setup 4 digit pin so you cant accidentally order things)

First thoughts from what i have done so far. I  have always been interested in getting one of these devices. The main reason why I pulled the trigger was Alexa now has capability to use with my Plex home internal servers.  With that being said that functionality is somewhat limited at this time. I was able to get it to see my Plex servers, but not able to find compatible players that work with device at this time. From the research i have done is this functionality inst quite ready for production use at this time regarding Plex. Another issue I ran into was my echo would keep dropping its network connection and would need to be reset again. This seems to be a known issue and is most likely also an issue since i have a complicated network setup. Once i changed my echo from dhcp to static assigned address i have had no issues since.  At this time i have managed to reorder coffee using Alexa commands. Once I spoke Alexa order coffee it promptly came back saying based on your order history would you like to order X or X and once confirmed it asks for my 4 digit pin and order was placed.  After looking for a good calendar app I went with quick events and tied that with my google calendar using the Alexa app on my phone. Next I went back to skill store and added weather bug which works great for my area. I am still in process of adding more skills and accounts for things in my area.

All in all I would say this is worth the 50$ I spent on my amazon echo dot. The skills library is growing constantly and a lot of development is being done on that area. I will be watching very closely for the Plex functionality to be added.  I am looking forward to be adding home functionality to my echo very soon. I am going to go with the Phillips Hue kit which is roughly around 70$ and comes with bridge and two light bulbs which will allow me to turn off and on lights in my home.  I will update this more as I spent more time with my unit.

